Year 12 will be your hardest year study wise that you have ever encountered before.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Here are my top ten tips that I wish I knew before I tackled the VCE.

Tip 1: To succeed in year 12 you must consistently revise throughout the whole year.

Tip 2: Create a colour coded system for highlighting/ notes.

Tip 3: Change up where you study once in a while.

Tip 4: Don’t get dragged up into the hype of paying for masses of study notes from various companies and lectures. There is so much free content and revision notes on the internet and available from libraries (school and local) and your teacher that getting the mark that you need should never cost you.The best notes and revision guides are the ones that you refine yourself and that you make. The is very little you can get from someone else’s work.

Tip 5: Make time for exercise daily. I took a walk to my local park every day and it was the best thing I could have done for myself. It was my “me time”.

Tip 6: EAT!! Simple yet effective. I have seen too many people suffer from first world malnutrition because they didn’t spend the time to eat food when they needed it.

Tip 7: The more light supplied the better when it comes to your study space. You need to be near a window and have a bright room light along with a study lamp.

Tip 8: Spend time with your family and friends. During VCE I had no allocated time for friends and family and this eventually escalated to me becoming depressed halfway through year 12. Believe it or not but your study is a team effort and you need all of the support you need ( and your friends need your support as well).

Tip 9: Keep yourself focused on the little goals whilst having your BIG goal in the back of your mind. Almost everyone has their ideal ATAR that they want to achieve, but it is the small goals ( such as getting a particular mark for a SAC or leading a balanced lifestyle for that week) that really make the difference to getting to your end-of- year prize. I didn’t learn this until after year 12 so take it from me the small goals and steps really matter if you want to conquer VCE.

Tip 10: HAVE FUN. You only have to do year 12 once and even though it is a lot harder than you could ever expect you must be able to stand back from everything is still enjoy the year.

